Where the Crawdads Sing / Delia Owens

#1 New York Times Bestseller and a Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick


'I can’t even express how much I love this book! I didn’t want this story to end!'–Reese Witherspoon

'Painfully beautiful.'The New York Times Book Review

'Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver.'Bustle
 

Where the Crawdads Sing Owens cover.jpgFor years, rumors of the 'Marsh Girl' have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life–until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

 

Reviews

'A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature….Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders—and dangers—of her private world.'—The New York Times Book Review

'A nature-infused romance with a killer twist.'—Refinery29

'Both a coming-of-age story and a mysterious account of a murder investigation told from the perspective of a young girl…Through Kya’s story, Owens explores how isolation affects human behavior, and the deep effect that rejection can have on our lives.'—Vanity Fair

'Lyrical…Its appeal ris[es] from Kya’s deep connection to the place where makes her home, and to all of its creatures.'—Booklist

'This beautiful, evocative novel is likely to stay with you for many days afterward ... absorbing.'—AARP

'This wonderful novel has a bit of everything—mystery, romance, and fascinating characters.'—Nicholas Sparks

 

About the author

Delia Owens is the co-author of three internationally bestselling nonfiction books about her life as a wildlife scientist in Africa—Cry of the Kalahari, The Eye of the Elephant, and Secrets of the Savanna. She has won the John Burroughs Award for Nature Writing and has been published in Nature, The African Journal of Ecology, and International Wildlife, among many others. She currently lives in Idaho, where she continues her support for the people and wildlife of Zambia. Where the Crawdads Sing is her first novel.