Kiama Readers Festival 2021

Published on 09 June 2021

Kiama Readers Festival 2021.JPG

Kiama Library has unveiled a stellar literary line-up for the Kiama Readers Festival 2021 (23 - 25 July), including authors Richard Fidler, Caroline Overington, Michael Robotham, Mary Moody and Hugh Mackay.

Director Environmental Services Jessica Rippon has congratulated the Friends of Kiama Library and Library staff for providing a great line-up of events with well-known and local authors.

“The Kiama Readers Festival is a major highlight of our cultural calendar, and it’s exciting to see it return in 2021 with such a strong program,” Mrs Rippon said.

“A highlight will be the official launch on the Friday evening with Heather Morris, author of the number one international bestseller The Tattooist of Auschwitz.”

“Heather will be discussing her latest book Stories of Hope, sharing her inspirational writing journey and how she has captured the stories people have shared with her.”

The Readers Festival boasts a full day of events on the Saturday at The Pavilion Kiama, with more than 12 authors involved in 9 sessions.

A highlight will be author of ‘shockingly good’ childrens’ stories R.A. Spratt, who will delight a younger audience. Fans of Nanny Piggins, Friday Barnes and the Peski Kids series won’t want to miss this session.

Mary Moody, the much-loved Gardening Australia presenter, is guest author for the Saturday night festival dinner. Mary will also be hosting Writing from the Heart, a memoir-writing masterclass on the Sunday. Other Sunday workshops include:

  • a poetry reading and workshop with Ivy Ireland
  • becoming a published author and pitfalls to avoid with Tahlia Newland
  • a creative writing workshop with Clayton Zone Comber (Bouquiniste)

Books will be available for purchase from The Bookshop Kiama and Bouquiniste throughout the Festival, which authors will be available to sign as well as chat.

The Kiama Readers Festival is presented by Friends of Kiama Library, Kiama Library, Kiama Municipal Council and Destination Kiama.

Festival programs are available from the Library or www.library.kiama.nsw.gov.au