Polls declared and no recount for Kiama

Published on 23 December 2021

old council chambers

There will be no recount and the polls have been declared for the local government elections in Kiama, which means our new Councillors-elect have been confirmed.

After results were announced earlier this week, a recount request was received by the NSW Electoral Commission.

Under Electoral Commission rules, there is a 24 hour window for anyone to object and demand a recount.  

However, last night the Electoral Commissioner stated they were “not satisfied that a recount should be conducted on the grounds provided in the request.”

Therefore, the Returning Officer has declared the election.

The nine elected Councillors for Kiama LGA in alphabetical order are:

  • Matt Brown (returning)
  • Mark Croxford (new)
  • Imogen Draisma (new)
  • Jodi Keast (new)
  • Stuart Larkins (new)
  • Neil Reilly (returning)
  • Karen Renkema-Lang (new)
  • Kathy Rice (returning)
  • Warren Steel (returning)

Kiama Council extends a warm welcome to all our Councillors-elect, who will be sworn in on 11 January, at which time they will elect the Mayor and Deputy Mayor. A welcome email and induction pack will go out to the elected Councillors today.

“I look forward to welcoming our new and returning Councillors in 2022 and wish everyone a safe and happy Christmas break in the meantime,” said Kiama CEO Jane Stroud. 

Tagged as: