Supporting Our Science Students

Published on 26 May 2022

KHS science students with teachers and mayor - Ruth Power - Alexa Farland - Nina Teague - Hayden McKay - Ella Johanssen - Neil Reilly

Kiama Council is supporting the fundraising efforts of three Kiama High School students so they can attend the International Youth Science Forum in London in July.

Council has donated $1,000 towards the travel costs for Alexa Farland, Nina Teague and Ella Johansson who need $22,500 to be able to attend the Forum.

All three have an interest in STEM innovations with a particular focus in engineering, mathematical sciences and medicine.

Mayor Neil Reilly met the students this week to pass on the best wishes of everyone at Kiama Council, and congratulate them on their scientific enthusiasm.

“Australia has a long and proud history when it comes to science, from Howard Florey’s penicillin breakthrough to Peter Doherty’s Nobel prize-winning immunology work,” Cr Reilly said.

“Importantly for Alexa, Nina and Ella this includes many women such as Nobel Laureate Elizabeth Blackburn and 2018 Australian of the Year Michelle Simmons.”

The International Youth Science Forum is the next step for the trio, who have already attended the National Youth Science Forum.

The London trip includes a two-week science summer camp programme at Imperial College London and The Royal Geographical Society with other students from 70 other countries.

This includes lectures and demonstrations from leading scientists, scientific visits to world-class laboratories and science universities combined with international cultural interaction.

There will be lectures from Nobel Laureates and an opportunity to visit the prestigious faculties at Oxford and Cambridge Universities.

The Forum aims to empower young people from all backgrounds to pursue their potential in STEM education.

A key part of this is encouraging them to form networks for exchanging ideas, discussing issues and scientific advancements so they can take their place in the world as a global citizen.

You can donate to Alexa, Nina and Ella’s fundraiser here:

Further information on the International Youth Science Forum is available here:

Photo: The students with their teachers and Mayor - Ruth Power, Alexa Farland, Nina Teague, Hayden McKay, Ella Johanssen and Cr Neil Reilly