

MINUTES OF THE EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF COUNCIL

commencing at 5pm on

THURSDAY 24 FEBRUARY 2022

Council Chambers
11 Manning Street, KIAMA NSW 2533

MINUTES OF THE EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF THE COUNCIL OF THE MUNICIPALITY OF KIAMA HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBERS, KIAMA ON THURSDAY 24 FEBRUARY 2022 AT 5PM

PRESENT: Mayor – Councillor N Reilly,

Deputy Mayor - Councillor I Draisma,

Councillors M Brown, W Steel, J Keats, S Larkins,

K Renkema-Lang and M Croxford

IN ATTENDANCE: Chief Executive Officer and Director Environmental Services

1 APOLOGIES

22/006OC

Resolved that the apology tendered from Councillor Rice be accepted and the leaves of absence granted

(Councillors Reilly and Croxford)

For: Councillors Brown, Croxford, Draisma, Keast, Larkins, Reilly,

Renkema-Lang and Steel

Against: Nil

2 ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF TRADITIONAL OWNERS

The Mayor declared the meeting open and acknowledged the traditional owners.

3 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Nil.

4 MAYORAL MINUTE

4.1 Advocacy List

22/007OC

Resolved that Council adopt the following projects for advocacy to Federal and State Candidates for their consideration:

- art gallery at old Council Chambers
- upgrade of change rooms and facilities at sports ground behind the Leisure Centre
- upgrade and redevelop the Leisure Centre, re-spring courts and improve lighting
- upgrade to youth and community hall at Jamberoo for signage etc, and a permanent pump track at Jamberoo
- Gerringong Surf Club rebuild and Werri Beach Holiday Park reconfigure
- seed funding for innovation hub focused on agribusiness
- better east to west road linkages, which are prone to failure and closure following heavy rain events
- completion of the second stage of the coastal walking track to Gerroa, alongside exploration of options to connect through Shoalhaven, thereby creating a great walks experience for the region
- redevelopment of the old Havilah Place building, incorporating affordable and mixed use housing
- Gerry Emery Oval women's change room and extension to club house
- funding to assist with delivering the concept and masterplan for the South Werri Beach project, 'Connecting Our Community'
- additional biking infrastructure to support healthy and active living
- Dido Street, Spring Creek bridge
- electric vehicle charging stations for Kiama, Jamberoo and Gerringong Art gallery at old Council Chambers.

(Councillor Reilly)

For: Councillors Brown, Croxford, Draisma, Keast, Larkins, Reilly,

Renkema Lang and Steel

Against: Nil

5 REPORT OF THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER

5.1 Audit, Risk and Improvement Committee - Councillor representation

22/008OC

Resolved that Council appoint Councillors Reilly, Renkema-Lang and Keast as representatives on the Audit, Risk and Improvement Committee for the period to September 2022.

(Councillors Reilly and Brown)

For: Councillors Brown, Croxford, Draisma, Keast, Larkins, Reilly,

Renkema Lang and Steel

Against: Nil

5.2 Blue Haven Advisory Board - Councillor representation

22/009OC

Resolved that Council appoint Councillors Reilly and Rice as its representatives to the Blue Haven Advisory Board for the period to September 2022.

(Councillors Reilly and Brown)

For: Councillors Brown, Croxford, Draisma, Keast, Larkins, Reilly,

Renkema Lang and Steel

Against: Nil

5.3 Kiama Local Traffic Committee - Councillor representation

22/010OC

Resolved that Council appoint Councillor Larkins and alternate Cr Croxford as its representatives to the Kiama Local Traffic Committee for the period to September 2022.

(Councillors Reilly and Larkins)

For: Councillors Brown, Croxford, Draisma, Keast, Larkins, Reilly, Renkema-

Lang and Steel

Against: Nil

5.4 Council Committees - appointment of committees and memberships

22/0110C

Resolved that Council:

1. endorse the following committee structure and Councillor membership of those Committees for the period to September 2022

Committee name	Councillor membership
Committee of the Whole	All Councillors
Access and Movement Committee	Cr Larkins Cr Brown

Arts and Culture Committee	Cr Draisma Mayor, Cr Reilly
Catchment and Flood Risk Management Committee	Cr Larkins Cr Renkema-Lang
Companion Animals Management Advisory Committee	Cr Larkins
Destination Kiama Advisory Committee	Cr Brown Cr Steel
Environmental Management and Sustainability Committee	Cr Draisma Cr Keast
Finance Advisory Committee	Mayor, Cr Reilly Cr Keast
Jamberoo Youth Hall s355 Committee	Mayor, Cr Reilly
Performance Review Committee	Mayor, Cr Reilly Cr Brown Cr Rice Cr Draisma
Staff Consultative Committee	Mayor (ex officio)
Work Health and Safety Committee	Mayor (ex officio)
Youth Advisory Committee	Cr Draisma Cr Brown

- 2. Establish a Grants Committee as soon as practical (as recommended in the Community Grants and Sponsorships Internal Audit Report dated August 2021).
- 3. Undertake and complete a review by September 2022 of all internal optional Committees to determine if any additional are required including, but not limited to, an Aboriginal Advisory Committee, following further consultation with the community.
- 4. Establish a reference group "Rural Futures" as soon as feasible, in a similar vein to the Kiama Town Centre Development Control Plan reference group, notwithstanding the priorities to address the state of the organisation challenges.

(Councillors Reilly and Croxford)

For: Councillors Brown, Croxford, Draisma, Keast, Larkins, Reilly,

Renkema-Lang and Steel

Against: Nil

5.5 Council delegates to outside bodies, appointments to regional and other organisations

22/012OC

Resolved that Council endorse the following representatives to external organisations for the period to September 2022:

Committee name	Councillor membership
Civic Risk Mutual	Cr Keast
Cleary Bros Community Consultative Committee	Cr Croxford Cr Larkins
Friends of Kiama Library	Mayor, Cr Reilly Alternate - Cr Draisma
Healthy Cities Illawarra Management Committee and International Healthy Cities Alliance (including Australian Chapter)	Cr Rice Mayor, Cr Reilly
Illawarra Academy of Sport	Cr Croxford Mayor, Cr Reilly
Illawarra Bush Fire Management Committee	Cr Larkins
Illawarra Connection	Cr Steel
Illawarra District Weeds Authority Committee	Cr Draisma
Illawarra Regional Airport Management Advisory Committee	Mayor, Cr Reilly
Illawarra Rural Fire District Service Agreement Committee	Cr Larkins
Illawarra Shoalhaven Joint Organisation	Mayor, Cr Reilly Cr Renkema-Lang Alternate – Cr Brown
Kiama and District Sports Association	Cr Croxford Mayor, Cr Reilly
Kiama Liquor Accord	Cr Steel Cr Croxford
NSW Public Library South East Zone Committee	Mayor, Cr Reilly Cr Draisma
South Coast Co-operative Library Service	Mayor, Cr Reilly
Southern Regional Planning Panel	Cr Rice Mayor, Cr Reilly Alternate – Cr Croxford

Sydney Catchment Authority's Local	Mayor, Cr Reilly
Government Reference Panel	Cr Rice

(Councillors Reilly and Keast)

For: Councillors Brown, Croxford, Draisma, Keast, Larkins, Reilly,

Renkema-Lang and Steel

Against: Nil

6 CLOSURE

There being no further business the meeting closed at 5.14pm.

These Minutes were confirmed at the Ordinary Meeting of Council held on 15 March 2022

Mayor	