

ORDINARY MEETING OF COUNCIL SUPPLEMENTARY ITEMS

To be held at 5pm on

Tuesday 21 November 2023

Council Chambers
11 Manning Street, KIAMA NSW 2533

Members

Mayor

Councillor N Reilly

Deputy Mayor

Councillor I Draisma

Councillor M Brown

Councillor M Croxford

Councillor J Keast

Councillor S Larkins

Councillor K Renkema-Lang

Councillor K Rice

Councillor W Steel

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ITEM		SUBJECT PAG	SE NO
18	LATE	EITEMS	3
	18.1	Australian Coastal Councils Association - election of NSW Representatives to the Committee of Management for 2023-2025	3

18 LATE ITEMS

18.1 Australian Coastal Councils Association - election of NSW Representatives to the Committee of Management for 2023-2025

CSP Objective: Outcome 2.1: We protect our people, our place, our flora and

fauna through our planning and our actions.

CSP Strategy: 2.1.3 Protect and maintain our natural areas; conserve areas of

natural significance.

Delivery Program: 2.1.3.2 Engage with regional partners to support regional

responses for our communities

Summary

This report seeks that Council select two candidates as NSW representatives on the Australian Coastal Councils Association Committee of Management for 2023-2025.

Financial implication

Annual membership fees for the Australian Coastal Councils Association are \$1,300.

Risk implication

The risk relating to this information is Council not having the opportunity to be represented at a national level on the Australian Coastal Councils Association.

Policy

Code of Conduct for Councillors

Consultation (internal)

N/A

Communication/Community engagement

N/A

Attachments

Nil

Enclosures

Nil

RECOMMENDATION

That Council:

- 1. Select 2 candidates as NSW representatives on the Australian Coastal Councils Association Committee of Management, from those nominated:
 - Neil Reilly, Mayor Kiama Municipal Council.
 - Sharon Cadwallader, Mayor Ballina Shire Council

Supplementary Reports

- 18.1 Australian Coastal Councils Association election of NSW Representative to the Committee of Management for 2023-2025 (cont)
 - Duncan Dey, Councillor Byron Shire Council
 - Danielle Maltman, Councillor Port Macquarie Hastings Council
- 2. Return the voting form to the Australian Coastal Councils Association before close of business on 24 November 2023.

Background

The Australian Coastal Councils Association Committee (ACCA) represents the interests of coastal councils and their communities, and advocates and commissions research on behalf of coastal councils.

The ACCA consists of two elected representatives from member councils in each State for a period of two years (2023 to 2025).

Each member council is entitled to two votes. Councillors have been sent personal statements of the 4 candidates and are required to select 2 from those nominated, being:

- Neil Reilly, Mayor Kiama Municipal Council
- Sharon Cadwallader, Mayor Ballina Shire Council
- Duncan Dey, Councillor Byron Shire Council
- Danielle Maltman, Councillor Port Macquarie Hastings Council

Voting closes at close of business on Friday 24 November 2023.