Local Government Regional NAIDOC Awards


This annual event recognises Aboriginal and Non-Aboriginal achievements, skills and talents through a dinner and awards evening.

The event is the only one of its kind and is an opportunity for communities, businesses and organisations to celebrate the contribution and achievements of Aboriginal communities in Wollongong, Shellharbour, Kiama and Shoalhaven Local Government Areas.

The NAIDOC awards are made possible with the support of our partner councils, corporate leaders, government agencies, non-government organisations and individuals.

2018 Winners

  • Aboriginal Organisation/Project of the Year: - Waminda - Dead or Deadly
  • Aboriginal Young Achiever (female) – Winyinnar Williams
  • Aboriginal Young Achiever (male) – Jackson Tikkeros
  • Outstanding Contribution to Reconciliation – Lena Bloxsome
  • Aboriginal Community Volunteer of the Year – Eric (Rick) Pagett
  • Aboriginal Worker of the Year – Lisa Wellington
  • Aboriginal Elder of the Year (female) – Auntie Lyn Stewart
  • Aboriginal Elder of the Year (male) – Uncle Albert ‘Salty’ Ralph


The 2019 Local Government Regional NAIDOC Awards will be hosted by Shoalhaven Council 


For any enquiries about the Awards, please call Kiama Council on: (02) 4232 0444