Local Traffic Committee


Our Committeecars travelling down Terralong Street

Roads and Maritime Services is legislated as the organisation responsible for the control of traffic on all roads in New South Wales under the Road Transport (Safety & Traffic Management) Act 1999. In order to deal with the large number and range of traffic related matters effectively, Roads and Maritime has delegated certain aspects of the control of traffic on local roads to Councils.  To undertake this delegated role the Kiama Local Traffic Committee meets on the first Tuesday of each month (except January).  The Committee is made up of:

  • our Director Engineering & Works
  • our Manager Design & Development
  • Council's Road Safety Officer
  • our Mayor
  • a NSW Police representative
  • a Roads & Maritime Services representative
  • a representative of the local State Member of Parliament

The Local Traffic Committee (LTC) is an advisory body only, having no decision making powers.  Recommendations are submitted to Kiama's Council for formal approval.

For more information on Local Traffic Committees check the RMS website or download this handy brochure - A guide to delegation to councils for the regulation of traffic.