Emergency contacts & plans


Emergency organisationsServiceNumber
State Emergency Service (SES)Storm safety
Flood safety
132 500
Rural Fire Service (RFS)Rural bushfires - Plan & Prepare000  
NSW Fire BrigadeKiama Township
Community Fire Safety
Ambulance Service of NSWMedical emergency000
NSW PoliceCrime000
Sydney WaterDamaged water mains132 092
Endeavour EnergyStreet lighting fault131 003
AGLGas supply131 909

Secondary emergency call service numbers are:

All calls to 000, 106 or 112, whether from fixed, mobile, pay phones or VoIP services are free-of-charge.

Kiama Council servicesHours of operationNumber
General8.45am-4.15pm Monday to Friday(02) 4232 0444
After hours and public holidays0417 686 477
Ranger Services7.30a-4.30pm0409 917 092
7.30am-4.30pm animal shelter and impounding yard(02) 4237 5623


Our Emergency Plan

In NSW, Emergency Management Plans (EMPLAN) are developed  to ensure a coordinated response can be made during an emergency.

The Illawarra Emergency Management Plan covers Kiama, Shellharbour and Wollongong Local Government Areas.

It outlines:

  • who is responsible for responding in an emergency
  • what tasks need to happen.

Kiama Council is a member of the Illawarra Local Emergency Management Commttee (LEMC).

Other LEMC members are:

  • Shellharbour Council
  • Wollongong Council
  • NSW Police
  • Fire & Rescue NSW
  • Ambulance
  • Rural Fire Service 
  • State Emergency Service

The committee meets 3 times a year and is chaired by a senior Council representative.