About Kiama Council

Blowhold Point



The Municipality of Kiama is located on the south coast of New South Wales Illawarra region. We sit between the Local Government Areas of:

  • Shellharbour
  • Shoalhaven and
  • Wingecarribee.

Kiama is close to the major city centres of Wollongong and Nowra.

It is 120km (approximately 90 minutes) by road or rail to Sydney.

Photo: Kyle Coffee Photography


This element requires javascript to be enabled.

Please wait while we load your map...

Geography & towns

Minnamurra rainforest

Our landscapes include:

  • beaches
  • rainforests
  • mountains
  • escarpment and
  • rural landscapes.

Each of our main towns have a distinct character. They are:

  • Kiama
  • Gerringong
  • Gerroa
  • Jamberoo
  • Kiama Downs
  • Minnamurra.

Our municipality is a popular tourist destination and offers artistic, sporting, social and business opportunities to become involved in the community.

The word ‘Kiama’ is believed to be derived from the Aboriginal word ‘Kiarama-a’.

Some sources say it means ‘where the sea makes a noise’ and that this refers to Kiama Blowhole.

How Council works

Council Chambers

Kiama Council was established in 1859.

We have 9 elected councillors.

This includes our Mayor who is elected every 2 years by the sitting Council.

On the third Tuesday of each month we run Council meetings.

Our CEO leads our organisation and Council staff.

We have 2 directorates (Engineering and Works, and Environmental Services).

We also have a Chief Operating Officer who oversees our Blue Haven operation.

Blue Haven Illawarra comprises our Bonaira residential aged care facility, independent living units, and a range of community services.

Our Blue Haven operation makes Kiama Council the largest local government provider of aged care and retirement living services in Australia.

We also operate:

Council values:

  • Respect
  • Innovation
  • Integrity
  • Teamwork
  • Excellence.

Council mission:

We work to create a Municipality that has a healthy, vibrant lifestyle, beautiful environment and harmonious, connected and resilient community.


Kiama Council is committed to honouring Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples’ unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. 

How we do business

Council has a Business Code of Ethics. Our community expects high ethical standards in the provision of Kiama Municipal Council’s services and in everything else we do. Council has set out an ethical framework in which it operates and what we expect from Councillors, Council staff and those who do business with Council. The Statement of Business Ethics is prepared by Council to ensure Council’s expectations around best practice procurement, contractor engagement, fair dealings, integrity and good governance are clear, practical and understood those who have dealings with Council. The Statement will enable providers and suppliers to Council to advance their business objectives and interests with us fairly and ethically


Key statistics

 Gerringong Aerial

  • Kiama Council established: 1859
  • Population: 22,961 (2021 Census)
  • Median age: 49 (38 for NSW)
  • Area: 259 km2
  • Number of businesses: 1,920 (2020 statistic)
  • Council employees: 531 (March 2023, includes full-time, part-time and casuals)
  • Boundaries: Tasman Sea, City of Shellharbour, City of Shoalhaven and Shire of Wingecarribee
  • Major towns and villages: Minnamurra, Kiama Downs, Kiama, Jamberoo, Gerringong, Gerroa
  • Geographic location: Longitude 150° East, Latitude -34°40 South