New Council Committees

Published on 17 May 2023


Kiama Council is seeking community representatives for our two new committees: the Infrastructure and Liveability Advisory Committee and the Sustainable Communities Advisory Committee.

Mayor Neil Reilly said the work done by Council’s committees was mostly unseen but a fundamental part of Council.

“These committees bring together councillors, key staff, representatives of community groups, government agencies and specialist advisers,” Cr Reilly said.

“They tackle all sorts of issues using their combined experience and expertise in an amazing range of areas, drawing upon additional advice where necessary.”

“We’re planning this structure to meet the dynamic needs of our community.”

The Infrastructure and Liveability Advisory Committee and the Sustainable Communities Advisory Committee will underpin Council’s work as outlined in the Kiama Community Strategic Plan 2022 – 2032.

  • EOI - Infrastructure and Liveability Advisory Committee
  • EOI - Sustainable Communities Advisory Committee

These new committees require three community representatives each, with expressions of interest due midnight, Sunday 18 June 2023 (date extended from 4 June):

Cr Reilly said getting the right people on these committees was crucial to addressing the challenges and realising the opportunities as a Council and a Municipality.

“I strongly urge everyone who can contribute their time, skills and experience to consider throwing their hat in the ring.”

“We need a committee system that not only drives our community’s shared vision for the future but is representative of our community as well.”

The committees will be managed through Council’s Committee Policy and Framework Policy and will have standard terms of reference, to be developed by the committees and Council.

The two new committees round out Council’s new committee structure:

This committee structure will be reviewed after 12 months to allow for any necessary changes to be made.

July 2023 update: the EOI for the committees has closed, we will soon announce our new committee members. 

Tagged as: