Cities Power Partnership

Kiama Council is 1 of the 123 Australian councils who have joined the Cities Power Partnership. 

It is Australia's largest government climate network and it represents close to 11 million Australians.

We've made 5 action pledges to tackle climate change.

Renewable energy

Pledge 1:

Install renewable energy systems (like solar PV and battery storage) on Council buildings, facilities, and managed land.

For example:

  • childcare facilities
  • libraries
  • street lighting
  • recreation centres
  • sporting grounds
  • council offices.

Pledge 2: 

Create a revolving green energy fund and other funding sources to finance internal projects and achieve energy savings.

Energy efficiency

Pledge 3: 

Adopt best practice energy efficiency measures in our operations:

  • facilities
  • buildings
  • public lighting
  • transport.

Support community organisations to adopt these measures.


Pledge 4:

Provide fast or other charging infrastructure at key locations in our municipality for electric vehicles.

Work together and influence

Pledge 5:

Set local renewable energy or emissions reduction targets and sustainable energy policies.

These will provide a common goal and shared expectations for local residents and businesses.